Matt Garozzo Details

Matt Garozzo

Bar roll 2021 Admitted 2012
  • Commercial Law Employment & Industrial
  • Public Law
Read more
Matt Garozzo practises in all areas of industrial relations, employment, and health and safety law.

Matt also practises in commercial law, administrative law and anti-discrimination law.

Before Matt joined the Victorian Bar, he was a Special Counsel in the Workplace Relations, Employment and Safety group at Clayton Utz. Prior to joining Clayton Utz, Matt worked in the equivalent branch of the Victorian Government Solicitor’s Office. He started his legal career as an associate to Judge Michael Shanahan AM of the District Court of Queensland.

Matt read with Matthew Follett SC and Richard Dalton KC.

Liability limited by a scheme approved under the Professional Standards Legislation.


Chambers & Clerk

Aickin Chambers
Level 21 Room 13

200 Queen Street 
Melbourne VIC 3000 

View map

Jane King

03 9225 8558


Commercial Law
  • Contractual Disputes
Employment & Industrial
  • Appellate
  • Confidential Information
  • Discrimination
  • Employment Contracts
  • Industrial Disputes
  • Public Sector Appeals
  • Restraint of Trade
  • Statutory Employment Rights
  • Work Health & Safety
Public Law
  • Administrative Law
  • Appellate
  • Civil & Human Rights
  • Commissions & Inquiries
  • Discrimination
  • Judicial Review



Bachelor of Laws (Hons) (QUT)

Master of Laws (Melbourne)



Entitled to practise in

High Court of Australia

Federal Court of Australia

State and Territory Courts and Tribunals

Recent Cases

All Care Australia Pty Ltd v Fair Work Ombudsman [2024] FCA 545 (led by M Follett SC)

Medical Board of Australia v Pham (Review and Regulation) [2024] VCAT 388

Simon Shearer v Chief Commissioner of Police [2024] VSC 181

Network Aviation Australia v Australian Federation of Air Pilots, Australian and International Pilots Association & Transport Workers’ Union of Australia [2024] FWC 685 (led by M Follett SC)

CSL Limited (CSL) [2024] FWC 1 (led by M Follett SC, for CSL)

United Firefighters Union v Fire Rescue Victoria [2024] FWCFB 43 (led by R Sweet KC)

Libardi v Deakin University [2024] FWC 103

Pathirana v Fernando (Human Rights) [2023] VCAT 1206 (for the state of Victoria)

United Firefighters Union v Fire Rescue Victoria [2023] FWCFB (led by R Sweet KC)

United Firefighters Union v Fire Rescue Victoria [2023] FWC 2020 (led by R Sweet KC)

Lawton v State of Victoria (Victoria Police) (Human Rights) [2023] VCAT 440

Fair Work Ombudsman v Construction, Forestry, Maritime, Mining and Energy Union (The Yatala Labour Prison Case) (No 2) [2023] FCA 429 (led by M Felman KC)

Australian Salaried Medical Officers Federation v Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine[2023] FWC 1046 (led by C O’Grady KC)

Application by Workzone Traffic Control Pty Ltd [2023] FWCA 758 (led by M Follett, for the FWO)

Thomas Bonney v Monash University[2023] FWC 469

Transport Workers' Union of Australia v Cleanaway Operations Pty Ltd [2023] FWCFB 11 (led by M Follett)

TWU v Cleanaway Operations Pty Ltd[2022] FWCFB 240 (led by M Follett);

Police Federation of Australia v Victoria Police[2022] FWC 1862;

CFMMEU-Construction and General Division, Queensland Northern Territory Divisional Branch [2022] FWC 2332 (for the ABCC);

In the matter of the Entry Permit of Mr James John William Simpson [2022] FWC 2074 (for the ABCC);

United Firefighters Union of Australia v Country Fire Authority [2022] FCA 727 (led by C O’Grady KC);

Tween v Qantas Airways Ltd [2022] FWC 1594 (led by R Dalton KC);

Roy-Chowdhury v Ivanhoe Girls Grammar School [2022] FWCFB 101;

Police Federation of Australia v Victoria Police [2022] FWC 1554;

ABCC v CFMMEU & others (Yatala Labour Prison Case) [2022] FCA 492 (led by M Felman KC);

Roy-Chowdhury v Ivanhoe Girls Grammar School [2022] FWC 849;

Sawan v Victoria Police [2022] FWC 660;

Nazi Beydoun & Ors v Northern Health & Ors [2021] FWC 6341 (led by C O’Grady KC);

QNurses First Inc v Monash Health [2021] FCA 1372 (led by C O’Grady KC and M Follett).


Australian Labour Law Association

Australian Institute of Administrative Law